Main Street Program expanding

Governor Laura Kelly today announced plans to expand the Kansas Main Street Program by up to three additional communities this Winter. Originally launched in 1985, Kansas Main Street has helped dozens of mostly rural communities work toward ensuring the viability of their downtown districts. During the first 27 years of the Kansas Main Street program, more than $600 million in redevelopment was invested in designated Main Street communities statewide. During that same time nearly 4,000 small businesses were started, creating over 8,600 new jobs. Earlier this year, the Governor announced the addition of Atchison, Baldwin City and Junction City, which brought the total number of designated Main Street communities in Kansas to 28. The program will now add up to three more designated communities.